Select Page

Be Belmont Applicable: Tips for Successful Belmont Forum Grant Submissions

Belmont Forum has provided over $200 million in funding to researchers over the past 10 years on a wide array of topics related to mitigating and adapting to global environmental change. The Belmont Forum’s unique approach to addressing these global challenges is achieved by providing funding opportunities to research consortia that utilize principles of transdisciplinarity and co-production while including meaningful participation of researchers from around the globe, including the Global South. 

Join us for this free event to learn what these guidelines mean to Belmont Forum, how to build trans-national research consortia, and how to tailor submissions for a particular call at the “Be Belmont Applicable” Sessions leading up to SRI 2021. This is an ideal session for researchers interested in how to successfully apply for Belmont Forum funds. The Be Belmont Applicable series will be broken into two sessions, the Belmont Forum Alumni Highlight held on May 17, 2021, followed by the Belmont Forum Technical Submission on May 19, 2021. This session will shine a light on the core aspects needed in a proposal and research group to successfully receive Belmont Forum funds. Learn more about the Belmont Forum challenge and how you can develop an eligible transdisciplinary, transnational proposal addressing global environmental change.  Step through the online submission portal to better understand all of the elements of your proposal that will need to be considered for review. In this 2-part session, you will learn how to apply for future funding opportunities and be prepared to build your future research consortium networks at SRI 2021.

During the 1.5-hour Alumni Highlight, you will hear from researchers across past Collaborative Research Actions that have successfully gone through the process of applying for Belmont Forum funds. They will reflect on how they built a transdisciplinary consortium that fit the specifications for their particular call, their strategies for including stakeholders and social scientists within their research project, what they wished they had considered before their project began, and the impact of the work achieved. The Belmont Forum will take this opportunity to hear from the research community the ways in which we can improve the submission portal.

Date and Time

Alumni Highlight Panel: May 17, 1.5 hours beginning at 7:00 am Mountain, 9:00 am Eastern, 10:00 am Brasil, 3:00 pm South Africa, 9:00 pm Taipei

Belmont Forum Technical Submission: May 19 for 1 hour beginning at 7:00 am Mountain, 9:00 am Eastern, 10:00 am Brasil, 3:00 pm South Africa, 9:00 pm Taipei