Select Page

Agenda

The SRI2021 Program took place from June 12-15, and featured a variety of sessions, plenaries, networking opportunities and interactive events. The full agenda is available on the Congress Platform where you can watch all recordings from the Congress.

Times listed below for New York and London with an asterisk* are Saturday June 12, local time.

7:30 am Brisbane
10:30 pm London*
5:30 pm New York*
Welcome to SRI
PLENARY
8:00 am Brisbane
11:00 pm London*
6:00 pm New York*
Opening Plenary: Oceanic Perspectives on Advancing the Global Sustainability Agenda (Onsite Broadcast)
PLENARY          ONSITE
9:00 am Brisbane
12:00 am London
7:00 pm New York*
Welcome to Country
PLENARY          ONSITE
9:30 am Brisbane
12:30 am London
7:30 pm New York*
Opening Breakfast
ONSITE ONLY
11:00 am Brisbane
2:00 am London
9:00 pm New York*

Encore: Welcome to SRI2021 & Opening Plenary
ONSITE 

Forum: Creating a healthy environment for your local flora and fauna to thrive
ONSITE

12:15 pm Brisbane
3:15 am London
10:15 pm New York*
QuestaGame #CitizenScience demonstration
ONSITE ONLY
12:30 pm Brisbane
3:30 am London
10:30 pm New York*
Forum: How to reduce waste in your home
ONSITE
2:00 pm Brisbane
5:00 am London
12:00 am New York

Collaborating for Sustainable Futures: Advances in Research Co-design
WORKSHOP 

21st Century Sustainability Research and Innovation for the Minerals Sector
SESSION

Developing an industrial ecology marketplace for plastic waste
SESSION

The (Sustainable) Future is Female: Advancing Gender Equality in Sustainability Leadership
SESSION

Forum: Australia’s progress on Sustainable Development Goals including climate action
ONSITE

3:00 pm Brisbane
6:00 am London
1:00 am New York

Establishment of Regional Training Center for Nurses, Midwives and Clinical Officers in the African Greater Lakes Region
WORKSHOP 

Futureproofing environmental pedagogy: emotional resilience, mental health and action in the climate emergency
SESSION

Part 1 (Knowledge): Learning from Indigenous ways of knowing and doing across Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand
EVENT

4:45 pm Brisbane
7:45 am London
2:45 am New York
Welcome to SRI (for participants from Africa/Europe/Middle East)
PLENARY
5:00 pm Brisbane
8:00 am London
3:00 am New York

Air Quality and Human Health
SESSION

Innovate4Cities: Generating the knowledge that cities need at the speed and scale required
WORKSHOP

University transformations for transdisciplinarity and the SDGs
SESSION

Engaging in the Challenges of Transdisciplinary Research on Sustainabilities
SESSION

Envisioning plausible future towards ecological-cultural sustainability: A new perspective of “Fudo” theory in the age when humanity and computer can harmoniously co-exist
SESSION (Japanese)

6:00 pm Brisbane
9:00 am London
4:00 am New York

Early Career Networking Hour
EVENT 

How do UNESCO’s Biosphere Reserves increase biodiversity and resilience to climate change?
SESSION

My Climate Risk
SESSION

SDG Labs – Biodiversity-Solutions For Change
SESSION

7:00pm Brisbane
10:00 am London
5:00 am New York

Colloid and Interface Science for Sustainable Innovation and Industrial Transformation
SESSION 

Ocean Knowledge-Action Network: Overview, Activities, and Engagement for Sustainability and Research Innovation
SESSION

Risk and resilience: from gender inequality to female leadership
SESSION

Scientists in Exile: A meta-view of the impact of ongoing uncertainty and risks for scientists and the production of science
SESSION

Sustainability of biodiversity conservation: too expensive for humans or can we find solutions?
SESSIONS

Trade-offs and Synergies in Ocean Conflict Transformation
SESSIONS

8:00 pm Brisbane
11:00 am London
6:00 am New York
Plenary 2: Sustainability for Whom?
PLENARY
9:45 pm Brisbane
12:45 pm London
7:45 am New York

Developing the Brisbane Message Stick
SESSIONS

10:00 pm Brisbane
1:00 pm London
8:00 am New York

Sustainable Soils Kick Off Meeting
BELMONT FORUM

Times listed below for New York and London with an asterisk* are Sunday June 13, local time.

8:00 am Brisbane
11:00 pm London*
6:00 pm New York*

Promoting success for sustainability research in the Oceania region
WORKSHOP

Future Oceans – Bridging Sustainability priorities for Early Career Professionals
WORKSHOP

Roundtable on International and Cross-Sectoral Co-Funding
BELMONT FORUM

Building Asia-Pacific Regional Hub for Social-Ecological Health: Visioneering the Doughnut Trilemma
SESSION

The entanglements of efficiency: Lessons for sustainable water management
SESSION

Working with narratives for transformation
WORKSHOP

9:00 am Brisbane
12:00 am London
7:00 pm New York*

The Future Earth Knowledge-Action Network on Systems of Sustainable Consumption and Production: Preparing for a Post-COVID-19 Future
SESSION

Meet & Greet: Planetary Health
ONSITE ONLY

Early Career Researchers and Practitioners Workshop: Policy Impact and Sustainability
WORKSHOP

10:00 am Brisbane
1:00 am London
8:00 pm New York*

Climate Change profound impact on mental health
SESSION

The Changing Face of Wildfires and Effects on Human Health
SESSION

Trans-disciplinary Knowledge to Action Initiatives on Marginal Seas of South and East Asia
SESSION

Understanding and interweaving kastom and cultural knowledge in community-based natural resource management and climate change in the Solomon Islands
SESSION

Creating the World We Want: Case Studies in Environmental Education
SESSION

11:00 am Brisbane
2:00 am London
9:00 pm New York*
Coffee on the Terrace
ONSITE ONLY
2:00 pm Brisbane
5:00 am London
12:00 am New York

Financing Sustainability
SESSION

From design to end-of-life: Fashion and the sustainable development goals
SESSION

Confronting the Adaptation Finance Gap: A Systems Approach
WORKSHOP

Earth Commission – Synthesizing Science to Underpin Science-Based Targets for our Global Commons
SESSION

New technologies for sustainable food, water and energy: opportunities, limitations and risks
SESSION

Sustainable Solutions and Responsible Innovation in Indigenous Australian livelihoods
SESSION

Advanced solutions for wildlife management in developing nations
SESSION

Response, Recovery & Resilience – The Role of Impact Driven Universities in Natural Disaster Management
SESSION

3:00 pm Brisbane
6:00 am London
1:00 am New York

Respectful Science: Transitioning towards a respectful custodianship of our oceans and coasts
SESSION

Social Open House
EVENT

4:00 pm Brisbane
7:00 am London
2:00 am New York
Meet & Greet: Climate Adaptation, Disaster and Risk
ONSITE ONLY
5:00 pm Brisbane
8:00 am London
3:00 am New York

Just Transitions: Mapping the Political Economy of Pathways to Net-Zero
SESSION

Risk Informed Planning for Sustainability
WORKSHOP

A Dialogue Forum: To Distill from Experiences of Stakeholders, Scalable Strategies for Disaster Risk Reduction and Societal Resilience Building
SESSION

Disaster and Climate Resilience in a Changing Climate – Transformations to Manage Systemic Risk
SESSION

Strategies for strengthening transdisciplinary sustainability science in the Global South
SESSION

Tackle Air Quality and Human Health with New Thinking and Technologies
WORKSHOP

Science for Stockholm+50: Mobilizing for the 2022 UN High-Level Meeting
EVENT

Understanding Systemic Risks: Perspectives from a Knowledge Action Network
SESSION

UNEP GEMS – Water
EVENT

6:00pm Brisbane
9:00 am London
4:00 am New York

Current Situation and the Prospect of SDGs in China
SESSION

Risks associated with environmental change in the Mediterranean Basin
SESSION

Swedish Fika
EVENT

6:30pm Brisbane
9:30 am London
4:30 am New York
Culture: The Fourth Pillar of Sustainability
ONSITE
7:00 pm Brisbane
10:00 am London
5:00 am New York

Advances in Earth Observation for Biodiversity and Ecosystem Monitoring
SESSION

Boots on the Ground: Incorporating local and indigenous knowledge in discovery science
SESSION

Collaboration for Sustainability in the Digital Age
SESSION

Critical social science perspectives on transformations to sustainability – emerging framings and approaches
SESSION

North -South Participation Through Engaging Communities for implantation of Sustainable Development Goals Harnessing Science, Research and Innovation
SESSION

Stakeholder Collaboration for Sustainable Smart Cities: Maximizing the Potential of Data-Driven Innovation While Minimizing Risks to Communities
SESSION

Understanding Systemic Risks: Perspectives from a Knowledge Action Network
SESSION

Will a Sustainability Transition Be Sufficient?
SESSION

Workshop for Belmont Forum CRA: Disaster Risk Reduction and Resilience (DR3)
WORKSHOP          BELMONT FORUM

the Way – the Water – the Walk… a river system simulator: communicating through community engagement, interactive art, and public participation
SESSION 

Responsible Mining Activities –Towards a sustainable inclusive economy
SESSION

8:00 pm Brisbane
11:00 am London
6:00 am New York
Plenary 3: Building Resilience for a post-Covid World
PLENARY
10:00 pm Brisbane
1:00 pm London
8:00 am New York

Training Future Leaders in Global Sustainability: A Belmont Forum Scoping Event
BELMONT FORUM

A Training in Two Parts: An Introduction to Transdisciplinary Research and Accessible Data Management
BELMONT FORUM

AS-MOST Event: Capacity and leadership in sustainability science of Taiwan – Development and Opportunities
EVENT

Pioneering Sustainability Publishing
EVENT

SUGI-Urban Nexus Innovation Showcase: Think Like a Mayor
BELMONT FORUM

UNEP GEMS – Ocean
EVENT

Early Career Networking Hour
EVENT

Strengthening global youth collaboration to protect biodiversity
EVENT

Opening & Welcome
FUTURE AFRICA

Oceans Film Festival Discussion 1: Arctic Bloom and Under the Pole
EVENT               OCEANS FILM FESTIVAL

The science policy nexus and the need for open, transdisciplinary global change research in Latin America and the Caribbean
EVENT

10:20 pm Brisbane
1:20 pm London
8:20 am New York
Sustainability Research to Accelerate Innovation in Africa
FUTURE AFRICA
12:00 am Brisbane
3:00 pm London
10:00 am New York

SRI Virtual Idea Market
BELMONT FORUM

The Regional Dimension of Future Earth and its Role for a Sustainable World
FUTURE AFRICA

Times listed below for New York and London with an asterisk* are Monday June 14, local time. 

7:00 am Brisbane
10:00 pm London*
5:00 pm New York*
Climate, Environment, and Health 2 (CEH2) Coffee Hour Scoping Event
BELMONT FORUM
8:00 am Brisbane
11:00 pm London*
6:00 pm New York*

Narratives, Identities, and Visions for Sustainable Futures
SESSION

Pathways for Upscaling Shared Mobilities Coupled with Disruptive Technologies: Potential impacts on land use
SESSION

Science-based Pathways for Sustainability: Towards a Community of Practice
SESSION

Knowledge exchange for sustainability focused transdisciplinary research, co-design, and implementation science (Sponsored by One Earth)
SESSION

Building Resilience through Youth Leadership in Environmental Education
SESSION

9:00 am Brisbane
12:00 am London
7:00 pm New York*

Supporting the Ambition to Sustainability through Funders Perspective
SESSION

Cats, Coffee, Cocktails
EVENT

Geography: shaping Australia’s resilient future
SESSION

10:00 am Brisbane
1:00 am London
8:00 pm New York*

Asia’s Role in the Anthropocene
SESSION

Blended approaches to sustainable futures dialogue in the Pacific
SESSION

Stakeholder Engagement to Re-Energize Disaster Risk Reduction and Resilience (DR3) for Advanced Data Processes
SESSION

The Sustainability Action Platform: Developing a Global Exchange for Accelerating Local Transitions
SESSION 

Part 2 (Frameworks): Learning from Indigenous ways of knowing and doing across Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand
EVENT

11:00 am Brisbane
2:00 am London
9:00 pm New York*
Coffee on the Terrace
ONSITE ONLY
1:00 pm Brisbane
4:00 am London
11:00 pm New York*
Meet & Greet: Oceans and Water
ONSITE ONLY
2:00 pm Brisbane
5:00 am London
12:00 am New York

Seaweed Aquaculture: Greening Australia’s Blue Growth
WORKSHOP

Green finance: overcoming capital cost barriers to low-carbon energy projects through public-private partnerships
SESSION

Living with Dignity and Disability in a Sustainable World
SESSION

Unlocking the value of water through digital transformation
SESSION

Early Career Networking Hour
EVENT

Enhancing participation and human rights at the SDG crossroad of food, health, gender and wellbeing: Civil society mapping for integrated action on the SDGs in Australia and Canada
SESSION

Rebuilding Catchment Resilience – Designing cutting edge investment prioritisation and presentation tools to accelerate the benefits of the green recovery
SESSION

3:00 pm Brisbane
6:00 am London
1:00 am New York

Launch: Future Earth Australia’s 10-Year Strategy for Sustainable Oceans and Coasts
SESSION

Enacting serious game system as an exploratory space for sustainability transformation
SESSION

Social Open House
EVENT

The 2030 targets and beyond supporting local health systems dealing with climate change
SESSION

The Economics of the Water-Energy-Land-Food Nexus: How to Contribute to Restoration Goals?
EVENT

4:00 pm Brisbane
7:00 am London
2:00 am New York
Great Barrier Reef – A discussion on collaborative reef planning and management
BELMONT FORUM
4:30 pm Brisbane
7:00 am London
2:00 am New York
Carnival of the Extinct Animals: Performance by Dr Robert Davidson
EVENT
5:00 pm Brisbane
8:00 am London
3:00 am New York

Exploring dominant and regenerative narratives and the worldviews they reflect
WORKSHOP

Engaging stakeholders to protect vulnerable areas against climate change
SESSION

The apparent mismatch between science and policy at the air-sea interface
SESSION

Addressing systemic risks in social-ecological systems: mountains as contexts for evidence and action
SESSION

Funding Science for Global Sustainability
SESSION

6:00pm Brisbane
9:00 am London
4:00 am New York

Closing Drinks
ONSITE ONLY

Systems of Sustainable Consumption and Production (SSCP) Scoping Event
BELMONT FORUM

Technological Innovations in Education to Help Achieve the SDGs
SESSION

Air Pollution and Sustainable and Resilient Food Production
SESSION

Facing shocks: Sustainable strategies from Western and Central Africa
SESSION

Social Open House
EVENT

Solutions for sustainability of investments and capabilities to best manage natural assets
SESSION

6:30 pm Brisbane
9:30 am London
4:30 am New York
Tech for Whom?
EVENT
7:00 pm Brisbane
10:00 am London
5:00 am New York

Addressing climate change at regional level: the French IPCC-like science-policy interfaces
SESSION

Integrated approaches to sustainability – Insights into three participative scenarios on biodiversity, land, and water in France
SESSION

Past global changes as indicators for future changes and strategies for sustainability
SESSION

Showing leadership in sustainability science: Lessons from the Global South and beyond the academy
SESSION

The Atmosphere – the “forgotten” domain in the Sustainable Development Goals?
SESSION

The Future of Feeding People Safely
SESSION

Integrativity in complexity: knowledge co-creation at the food-water-energy nexus
SESSION

8:00 pm Brisbane
11:00 am London
6:00 am New York
Plenary 4: To 2030 and beyond: Insights from the 2023 Global Sustainable Development Report and SRI2021 Early Career Champions
PLENARY
9:30 pm Brisbane
12:30 pm London
7:30 am New York
Reflecting Forward
PLENARY
10:00 pm Brisbane
1:00 pm London
8:00 am New York

Bridging Local Policy and Community for Sustainable Transformations
BELMONT FORUM

Towards circular urban economies and regenerative cities: Lessons learned from nature-based solutions and the Food-Water-Energy Nexus
BELMONT FORUM

UNEP GEMS – Air
EVENT

Recap of Day 1
FUTURE AFRICA

10:15 pm Brisbane
1:15 pm London
8:15 am New York
Socialising the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) for Enhanced Awareness and Effective Implementation: Opportunities and Constraints
SESSION
11:00 pm Brisbane
2:00 pm London
9:00 am New York
Oceans Film Festival Discussion 2: Our Planet and Reaching Blue
EVENT               OCEANS FILM FESTIVAL
11:30 pm Brisbane
2:30 pm London
9:30 am New York
Building climate resilience: key findings from the Collaborative Adaptation Research Initiative in Africa and Asia (CARIAA)
FUTURE AFRICA

 

Times listed below for New York and London with an asterisk* are Tuesday June 15, local time. 

12:30 am Brisbane
3:30 pm London*
10:30 pm New York*
Discussion and Closing Ceremony
FUTURE AFRICA
1:00 am Brisbane
4:00 pm London*
11:00 pm New York*
Refreshments for Onsite Participants
FUTURE AFRICA
9:00 pm Brisbane
12:00 pm London*
7:00 am New York*
Pathways to Sustainability Kick-Off Meeting
BELMONT FORUM