Select Page

Transforming your research into news to reach broader audiences

A workshop on science communication with Kathy Kohm, Editor in Chief of Anthropocene Magazine, and David Malakoff, Deputy News Editor for Science Magazine.

Great! Your findings are published in a peer-reviewed journal. Now, how do you make them more accessible and reach a broader audience?

Join this expert duo of editors in a workshop that will share time-tested techniques for distilling and transforming a specific piece of work into a:

  • Persuasive piece of writing, such as newspaper op-ed that argues for a particular policy or action
  • Q&A or explanatory memo
  • Story pitch to a reporter or editor

In this online workshop, participants will get hands-on experience crafting key elements of a news piece based on their own research or area of interest. One of the keys to reaching a broader audience is skillfully framing a topic, recommendation, or discovery. This doesn’t mean sacrificing accuracy; rather, it requires putting science in the context of people’s interests, concerns, or everyday lives. To that end, we’ll focus on writing “made-you-look” titles and subtitles that can catch the attention of distracted browsers, and opening paragraphs that reel them in.

We’ll bring lots of examples. You should bring a recent research paper or science document that you would like to reach a broader readership.  

The workshop is open to all SRI2021 registrants, and is capped at 20 participants. Researchers, industry experts, students – innovators in any sustainability-related field interested in increasing their audience, reach and impact – should attend! All applicants will be required to submit their research abstract at the time of registration, and applications will be accepted on a rolling basis. Apply by May 23 to secure your spot in this expert workshop!

This training will take place on Wednesday, June 2nd at 09:00 – 10:30 AEST (Brisbane). 09:00 AEST is 07:00 CST or 08:00 JST, or Tuesday, June 1st at 17:00 MT or 19:00 EDT. 

Speakers

 Kathryn Kohm

Kathryn Kohm

Editor in Chief, Anthropocene Magazine

Kathryn Kohm is an editor, designer, and entrepreneur with over 25 years of experience in environmental media. She is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Anthropocene, the premier magazine of Future Earth. From 1999-2016, she was the founding editor of Conservation magazine, from which Anthropocene evolved. She has also edited several books, including “Balancing on the Brink of Extinction,” and “Creating a Forestry for the 21st Century.” There’s an equation on a slip of paper pinned above her desk that neatly captures her editorial ambitions: Surprise + Clarity = Delight.

David Malakof

David Malakof

Deputy News Editor, Science Magazine

David Malakoff is a Deputy News Editor at Science, where he coordinates coverage of science policy, politics, energy and the environment. He also edits the ScienceInsider online news service. He has worked as a senior editor and correspondent on NPR’s Science Desk and contributed to a wide range of outlets during his 30+ years in journalism. An avid birder and whitewater kayaker, he lives in the Washington, D.C. area.