Select Page

Diversity boosts sustainability science and action

Flipping the script on sustainability, introducing perspectives and lessons from the Global South, finding partners in the Global North, and exploring the differences.

Sustainable solutions emerge from a diversity of worldviews and approaches to knowledge and innovation. This pillar explores how the outcomes are different when this is pursued from perspectives that have historically been overlooked in framing sustainable development. Across all three days you will find many sessions relating to sustainable solutions from the Global South, click here to view them all.

We have picked out five sessions that could interest you. Check them out! Don’t yet have your ticket? Register now.

Trade-offs and Synergies in Ocean Conflict Transformation

As social, economic, technical and ecological changes interact, Blue Economy agendas expand, ocean and coastal conflict hotspots and conflict engagement arenas and conflict-related research projects emerge. This session, invites ocean conflict stakeholders from outside academia into a discussion panel.

June 13, 2021, 7:00 pm Brisbane
10:00 am London / 5:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Promoting success for sustainability research in the Oceania region

This workshop aims to assess the requirements and evidence base for approaches to support the development of inter/transdisciplinary research leadership. It will focus on identifying and discussing the values and principles that will guide the future of leadership for sustainability transformations, and developing the basis for a manifesto based on these principles.

June 14, 2021, 8:00 am Brisbane
June 13, 11:00 pm London / 6:00pm New York

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Sustainable Solutions and Responsible Innovation in Indigenous Australian livelihoods

Sustainable and diversified social and economic development is a primary objective for Indigenous traditional owners on their customary lands. This collaborative session provides presentations and analyses of Indigenous co-research initiatives regarding sustainable solutions and responsible innovation.

June 14, 2021, 2:00 pm Brisbane
5:00 am London / 12:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Responsible Mining Activities –Towards a sustainable inclusive economy

The aim of this session is to exchange between “South and North” countries actors to explore innovative actions in order to develop a responsible mining activity at global and local scale, from field to theoretical knowledge.

June 14, 2021, 7:00 pm Brisbane
10:00 am London / 5:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Unlocking the value of water through digital transformation

The session will discuss the architecture of an evidence-informed and value-based digital operating framework for water across scales that will integrate effects of hydrological, biogeochemical, ecological, human health, cultural, social-economic behaviour, institutions and will help understand feedbacks in near real-time for all stakeholders.

June 15, 2021, 2:00 pm Brisbane
5:00 am London / 12:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Browse all Sustainable Solutions from the Global South sessions.

REGISTER NOW