Select Page

Transdisciplinary collaboration to spark action for the SDGs

Identifying pathways to societal transformation, mapping actors, and evaluating synergies, trade-offs and risks.

Achieving the UN Sustainable Development Goals requires rapid societal transformation. However, the important work for change is often still fragmented and siloed. Much more needs to be done to bring together diverse efforts and actors, and to evaluate synergies, trade-offs and risks.

Sessions focused on integrated action for the SDGs will explore opportunities for a more collective and inclusive approach that aims to build broader coalitions, seek new connections, and identify gaps in knowledge, focus and expertise.

There are many session on offer related to this Congress Pillar, you can view them all here. Below we have picked out five of the many unmissable sessions that focus on action to achieve the SDGs. Don’t yet have your ticket? Register now.

Developing an industrial ecology marketplace for plastic waste

Plastic waste is major global issue that needs to be addressed by the public and private sectors along with support from civil society. This session will explore will examine the footprint of plastic waste and discuss opportunities that are being created for remanufactured products will be highlighted, and whether specific options are socially and economically valuable and viable.

June 13, 2021, 2:00 pm Brisbane
5:00 am London / 12:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Risk and resilience: from gender inequality to female leadership

Female leadership has been associated with fewer deaths and better societal outcomes during the covid-19 pandemic. Inspired by the observed link, this session is an interactive exploration of the intersection of women’s perspectives on risk and the challenges for women to enter positions of leadership.

June 13, 2021, 7:00 pm Brisbane
10:00 am London/ 5:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Science for Stockholm+50: Mobilizing for the 2022 UN High-Level Meeting

Over the past half century, global achievements have been made for sustainability targets, constructing roadmaps and advancing agendas for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals. And yet, much remains to be done before we are on track to sustainable development.

This high-level panel will bring together policy makers and leading scientists in the Future Earth community to make a call for scientific input to the UN high-level meeting in 2022, “Stockholm+50”.

June 14, 2021, 5:00 pm Brisbane
8:00 am London / 3:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Tackle Air Quality and Human Health with New Thinking and Technologies

Millions of deaths worldwide were attributable to PM2.5 (fine aerosols). Especially in Asia, World Health Organization estimated that ~ 2.2 million premature deaths in the Asia and the Pacific area every year were attributed to household and ambient air pollution. This session introduces the Health Investigation and Air Sensing for Asian Pollution (Hi-ASAP) Initiative that aims to reduce health risks from air pollution with substantial participation from Global South countries.

June 14, 2021, 5:00 pm Brisbane
8:00 am London/ 3:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Funding Science for Global Sustainability

Mobilizing global sustainable science action is imperative if we are to realize the 2030 Agenda and the 17 SDGs. To unlock the full potential of science to achieve the SDGs in the short time frame that is left requires a system change in the way science is conducted, harnessed, assessed, and funded.

June 15, 2021, 5:00 pm Brisbane
8:00 am London/ 3:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Browse all Integrated Action for the SDGs sessions.

REGISTER NOW