Select Page

Building a stronger, more resilient world

Research and innovation which builds our capacity to deal with disturbances to function and flourish.

Last year, in the first months of the pandemic, we called on the SRI community share their thoughts on what our fifth Congress Pillar should be. Overwhelmingly people agreed that resilience should be a key them at the Sustainability Research & Innovation Congress 2021. We agreed! Resilience is a broad-theme that encompasses everything from the environment and agriculture to people’s livelihoods and mental health and many of our sessions touch upon this theme in some way or another. In the list below we have picked out five of the many unmissable sessions that highlight varied approaches to help our world and its people to become more resilient. Add one of the many sessions on resilience to your agenda. You can view them all here.

Launch: Future Earth Australia’s 10-Year Strategy for Sustainable Oceans and Coasts

Future Earth Australia welcomes you to the launch of their 10-Year Strategy for Sustainable Oceans and Coasts. The strategy outlines a range of opportunities for ensuring the ongoing sustainability of our oceans and coasts, to protect our livelihoods, connection, wellbeing and prosperity. This comes in light of the urgent need to protect from threats like climate change and over-extraction, but also leverage opportunities for resilient communities and a thriving blue economy.

June 15, 2021, 3:00 pm Brisbane
6:00 am London / 1:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Climate Change’s profound impact on mental health

There is growing evidence that changing climatic conditions are adversely affecting mental health, including the states of emotional resilience and psychosocial well-being such as stress, clinical disorders and suicide. Intensifying public awareness of the current impacts and future systemic risks of changing climate are also increasing the prevalence of emotional responses, especially among youth concerned about the future. This session will discuss the health risks and impacts of climate changes on mental health and the strategies to address them in a transdisciplinary approach.

June 14, 2021, 10:00am Brisbane
:00 am London / June 13, 8:00 pm New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Response, Recovery & Resilience – The Role of Impact Driven Universities in Natural Disaster Management

The recent events of the 2020 Australian Bushfires and outbreak of the COVID-19 have highlighted the need for rapid, authoritative advice in the case of crisis. The question needs to be asked whether a reoccurrence of these situations is inevitable, could it be foreseen, and could steps be taken to avoid such catastrophic events in the future? This session will feature a panel discussion on how to build resilience into community, natural and economic systems in the face on increasing natural disasters.

June 14, 2021, 2:00 pm Brisbane
5:00 am London / 12:00 am New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Geography: shaping Australia’s resilient future

Geography is quintessentially interdisciplinary — and approaches to education that take a system view of the world are needed in education for sustainable development, youth and resilience— geographers are uniquely placed for navigating these new unchartered waters. This session will explore what would help young people to be better prepared for the current and future uncertain situations and will explore the multiple knowledges (science, traditional, practice) that Geography as a discipline integrates to address complex issues related to sustainability.

June 15, 2021, 9:00 am Brisbane
12:00 am London / June 14, 7:00pm New York

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

The Sustainability Action Platform: Developing a Global Exchange for Accelerating Local Transitions

Learn about the Sustainability Action Platform (SAP), an open-source and dynamic global data management tool, which allows local government, communities and businesses to exchange ideas and experience with innovative actions aimed at advancing the SDGs locally. This session will explore how the SAP can advance knowledge management systems for climate governance and accelerate sustainability transitions, particularly how such a system can be designed and co-created with actors in the Global South to mitigate knowledge and power disparities.

June 15, 2021, 10:00am Brisbane
1:00 am London / June 13, 8:00 pm New York

 

+ ADD TO YOUR AGENDA

 

Browse all Resilience sessions at SRI2021

REGISTER NOW